News & Updates
The Winter 2017 Southern AIR is now available.

The Fall 2016 Southern AIR is now available.

SAIR Service Awards nominations are due September 1st.

The travel grant submission deadline has been extended to Friday August 5th.

The Spring 2016 Southern AIR is now available.


Below is a list of past SAIR Presidents, the year they served as President, and their institution at the time.

  • 1977-78: Barbara D. Holmes, Fayetteville State University
  • 1978-79: Norman O. Uhl, North Carolina Central University
  • 1979-80: Suzanne W. Larsen, University of Tennessee
  • 1980-81: Larry G. Jones, University of Georgia
  • 1981-82: E. Michael Staman, Systems and Computer Technology Corporation
  • 1982-83: Gerald W. McLaughlin, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
  • 1983-84: Richard D. Howard, North Carolina State University
  • 1984-85: Elizabeth F. Fox, University of Alabama – Birmingham
  • 1985-86: Linda K. Pratt, North Carolina Central University
  • 1986-87: Steve W. Batson, West Virginia State College
  • 1987-88: Kay A. Staub, University of Alabama
  • 1988-89: Timothy R. Sanford, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 1989-90: Mary Sapp, University of Miami
  • 1990-91: Brenda H. Rogers, North Carolina Central University
  • 1991-92: Tom R. Bohannon, Baylor University
  • 1992-93: William R. Fendley Jr., University of Virginia
  • 1993-94: James O. Nichols, University of Mississippi
  • 1994-95: Karen M. Gentemann, George Mason University
  • 1995-96: Deborah Brewton Dailey, University of Alabama – Birmingham
  • 1996-97: David B. Fleming, Clemson University
  • 1997-98: John M. Kalb, Florida State University
  • 1998-99: Glenn W. James, Tennessee Technological University
  • 1999-00: Gerard A. Dizinno, St. Mary’s University
  • 2000-01: Harriott Calhoun, Jefferson State Community College
  • 2001-02: Sam Lowther, Auburn University
  • 2002-03: Joseph Hoey, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2003-04: James Purcell, Georgia College & State University
  • 2004-05: Ross Griffith, Wake Forest University
  • 2005-06: James Eck, Rollins College
  • 2006-07: Lorne Kuffel, College of William & Mary
  • 2007-08: Sandi Bramblett, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2008-09: Michelle Hall, Southeastern Louisiana University
  • 2009-10: Bernie Braun, Louisiana State University
  • 2010-11: Roy D. Ikenberry, Belmont University
  • 2011-12: Denise Gardner, University of Georgia
  • 2012-13: Kathleen Morley, Baylor University
  • 2013-14: Mary Harrington, University of Mississippi
  • 2014-15: Sara Gravitt, Wake Forest University
  • 2015-16: Cara Mia Braswell, Auburn University at Montgomery
  • 2016-17: Lisa Lord, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Follow SAIR!
The Southern Association for Institutional Research (SAIR) is dedicated to the advancement of research leading to improved understanding, planning, and operation of institutions of post-secondary education. SAIR provides a forum for the dissemination of information and interchange of ideas on problems of common interest in the field of institutional research. In addition, SAIR promotes the continued professional development of individuals engaging in institutional research and fosters the unity and cooperation among persons having interests and activities related to research.