Minutes of the 2000 SAIR Awards Breakfast Myrtle Beach, South Carolina October 24, 2000

President Harriott Calhoun introduced individuals seated at the head table. In addition to Calhoun, they were Immediate Past-President Gerry Dizinno, Member-at-Large Teresa Hall, Member-at-Large Joseph Hoey, Past-President Glenn James, Outgoing Treasurer Rene Toups, Outgoing Secretary Myrtes Green, Vice-President/Program Chair 2001 Sam Lowther, Secretary and 2000 Local Arrangements Chair Christine Mee, Member-at-Large Cornelia Wills, Member-at-Large Jim Purcell, and 2001 Treasurer Hannelore Delbridge.

Travel Grant recipients were announced by Treasurer Rene Toups, on behalf of Member-at-Large Marcia Harrington.

- Deborah Burks South Georgia Technical Institute
- Jane Hulon Copiah Lincoln Community College
- Elaine Nugent State University of West Georgia
- Camille Peres University of Houston-Clear Lake
- Tammie Richey Jefferson State Community College
- Cornelia Wills Middle Tennessee State University

Best Paper Award was announced by Member-at-Large Sam Lowther. The 1999 winner was John Milam, University of Virginia, for the paper entitled Cost Analysis of Online Courses.

James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award was announced by Member-at-Large Sam Lowther. The recipient was James O. Nichols, University of Mississippi.

President Harriott Calhoun recognized the Conference Planning Committees. (See the list that follows.

Document Awards were announced by Tammie Richey (Jefferson State Community College).

Fact Book:

- 1st Best Middle Tennessee State University
- 2nd Outstanding Georgia Institute of Technology

Planning Document

- 1st Best North Lake College
- 2nd Outstanding Houston Community College System

Mini Publication

1st Best Southeastern Louisiana University

• 2nd Outstanding University of South Carolina, Columbia

The Best E-Factbook Awards were announced by Mike Gilbert (University of Tennessee – Knoxville). There were 28 entries, and the winners were:

- 1st Place, Western Carolina University
- 2nd Place, Georgia Institute of Technology
- 3rd Place, University of Florida

The Newcomers Game Prize was announced by Debbie Dailey (Georgetown University) The winner was Shelly Lang, Coastal Carolina University.

The Golf Scramble was announced by David Fleming Clemson University). The winning team was: James Kleckley, East Carolina University Claudia McCann, East Carolina University Johnathan Trail, University of South Carolina, Spartanburg Petula Satterfield, East Carolina University

Outgoing Board Members were recognized by Immediate Past-President Gerry Dizinno. They were Treasurer Rene Toups, Secretary Myrtes Dunn Green, Member-at-Large Marcia Harrington, Member-at-Large Sam Lowther and Past-President Glenn James.

Christine Mee, Local Arrangements Chairperson, distributed door prizes.

John Kalb (Florida State University) provided information and promotional items for SAIR 2001, which will be October 13-16, Edgewater Beach Resort, Panama City Beach, Florida.

Minutes were prepared by Outgoing Secretary Myrtes Dunn Green.