2003 SAIR Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast San Antonio, Texas October 14, 2003

General Business

At 7:55 a.m., the meeting was called to order. President Joseph Hoey welcomed attendees and introduced the members of the SAIR Board.

Secretary's Report

The business minutes from the 2002 SAIR Conference in Baton Rouge were approved, with Rene Toups (University of New Orleans) moving and Alice Simpkins (Paine College) seconding approval.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Ross Griffith reported that the combined bank and investment balance, as of June 30, 2003, was \$75,488.69. Total assets, as of September 30, 2003, were \$119,974.53. This amount included conference registration fees deposited by that date.

Past-President's Report

Past President Sam Lowther thanked the 2002-03 Nominating Committee members Bill Fendley (University of Alabama), John Kalb (Southern Methodist University), Kathleen Morley (Baylor University), Libby Morris (University of Georgia), and Nerissa Rivera (Duke University) for their service, and noted that 275 ballots were returned, for a 51 percent return rate.

Past President Lowther announced that the newly elected board members are:

	VP/President-Elect		Wake Forest University
•	Treasurer	Michelle Hall	Southeastern Louisiana University
•	Member-at-Large	Denise Gardner	Georgia Institute of Technology
•	Member-at-Large	Lorne Kuffel	College of William and Mary

The newly elected Nominating Committee members are:

•	Sarah Carrigan	University of North Carolina - Greensboro
•	Roy "Ike" Ikenberry	Belmont University
•	Andrew Luna	State University of West Georgia
•	Debra Stuart	Okla. State Regents for Higher Education
•	Catherine Watt	Clemson University

Mr. Lowther announced that the 2005 SAIR Conference will be held at the Francis Marion in Charleston, South Carolina.

By-Laws Revision

Past President Lowther presented a proposed change in the SAIR Bylaws to allow methods of conducting elections other than a traditionally mailed, printed ballot:

Article IV. Section 6. Election of officers. All officers and Members-at-Large shall be elected by a mail ballot distributed to the membership in a manner to be determined by the Board of Directors prior to the annual meeting. The ballot shall be returned to the chair of the Nominating Committee for tabulation and presentation to the Board of Directors. In the event of a tie vote for a specific elective office, a majority vote of the full Board of Directors shall resolve the tie. The new officers will be announced at the annual business meeting.

The motion was made by Sam Lowther (Auburn University) and seconded by Glenn James (Tennessee Technological University) to approve the motion. Discussion on the amendment was then opened. It was noted that using e-mail eliminates anonymity, but that other organizations, including AIR, used it successfully. Upon motion by Gerry Dizinno (St. Mary's University) and seconded by Debbie Dailey (Georgetown University), it was suggested that the phrase "that would ensure anonymity in voting" be inserted after the word "Directors" in the first sentence. The amendment was passed.

Gerry Dizinno (St. Mary's University) called for a vote on the revision to Article IV, Section 6 as amended. The following revision passed unanimously:

Article IV. Section 6. Election of officers. All officers and Members-at-Large shall be elected by a mail ballot distributed to the membership in a manner to be determined by the Board of Directors that would ensure anonymity in voting prior to the annual meeting. The ballot shall be returned to the chair of the Nominating Committee for tabulation and presentation to the Board of Directors. In the event of a tie vote for a specific elective office, a majority vote of the full Board of Directors shall resolve the tie. The new officers will be announced at the annual business meeting.

Past President Lowther then presented an amendment to the Articles of Incorporation of the Association that would change the point at which new officers assumed their position:

Article II. Section 6. Terms of officers. The *Vice President shall be elected for a two year term and will become President for the second year. The terms of office for the Secretary and the Treasurer shall be for two years and shall not start in the same year. Each newly elected officer shall assume office at the close of the annual business meeting conference

following the announcement of his or her election and remain in office until a successor takes office or is appointed.

Upon motion by Gerry Dizinno (St. Mary's College) and seconded by Hanne Delbridge (The University of Alabama), the amendment was unanimously passed.

President-Elect Report

President-Elect Jim Purcell announced that conference attendance was 353, with 265 workshop seats utilized, and 171 at the special event. He thanked the local arrangements committee and members of the various planning committees for their hard work. President-Elect Jim Purcell then recognized the vendors, especially those who helped to underwrite conference events. Members were encouraged to turn in their conference evaluation forms.

Awards

President Joseph Hoey presented the James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award to David Fleming of Clemson University. David was not able to attend the conference, but Larry Jones accepted the award on his behalf and shared David's words of appreciation.

President Hoey then recognized the outgoing SAIR officers and Board members. Past President Sam Lowther (Auburn University), Treasurer Ross Griffith (Wake Forest University), Member at Large Julie Fulgham (Mississippi State University), and Member at Large Jim Eck were presented with plaques as tokens of appreciation from the Association.

Member at Large Chris Mee presented the Best Paper Award from 2002 Conference: "Faculty Salary Equity Cases: Combining Equity with the Law," by Andrew Luna (State University of West Georgia). The paper was presented at the 2003 AIR Forum as one of the Best Papers from regional affiliated organizations.

Ms. Mee then presented several additional awards:

Best Factbook Georgia Institute of Technology

University of Alabama (runner-up)

Best Planning Document University of Alabama

Best Mini Factbook Southeastern Louisiana University

Georgia Institute of Technology (runner-up)

Best Electronic Factbook Kennesaw State University

(tie) University of Tennessee

Other Business

President Hoey welcomed Dr. Terrance Russell, Executive Director of the Association for Institutional Research, and Denise Sokol, Vice-President of AIR. They invited all to attend the AIR Forum in May 2004 in Boston, held at the Marriott Boston Copley Square.

Local Arrangements Chair Gerry Dizinno (St. Mary's University) thanked the members of his committee, and drew door prizes from San Antonio.

Incoming Vice President and Program Chair Ross Griffith (Wake Forest University) announced that SAIR's 2004 annual conference would be held at the Bayview Resort in Biloxi, Mississippi. Julie Fulgham (Mississippi State University), who is incoming Vice President and Program Chair for the Mississippi AIR affiliated group, will serve as local arrangements chair. Ms. Fulgham and other members of MAIR encouraged SAIR members to attend with songs and door prizes.

There being no further business, t	he meeting was adjourned at 9:00 a.m.
------------------------------------	---------------------------------------

8	,	\mathcal{E}	3	
Respectfully Submitted,				
Teresa Hall				
SAIR Secretary			Approved:	