DRAFT

SOUTHERN ASSOCIATION FOR INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH MINUTES OF BUSINESS MEETING OCTOBER 19, 2004

Jim opened meeting 7:50 am. Thanked Mississippi. Minutes approved Gerry Dizinno, Rich Howard seconded.

Michelle financial statement add amt. Does not include any conference expenses.

Audit Committee.

Joseph Hoey past president. Nominating cmte Sarah Carrigan, Ike Ikenberry, Deb Stuart, Catherine Watts. New officers:

VP – Jim Eck, Rollins College Sec - Julie Fulgham, Mississippi State University MAL_ Cathy Tanner, Bishop State Community College Sandy Bramlett, Georgia Tech

Nominating Committee: Cordelia Wills, Middle Tennessee State University Mitzia Johnson, Northeast Mississippi Community College Jon Acker, University of Alabama Cara Mia Pugh, Auburn University Sharron Ronco, Florida Atlantic University

Jim Purcell inducted into dinosaur club.

President ElectVP Ross: 35 concurrent sessions going til noon. One cancellation at 915 cc

Thanked breakfast sponsors. Highered.org, Scantron, HERI

Please fill out evaluations.

Registration- 439, 382 workshops, special event 225 sold out.

Jim Eck Charleston October 22-25.

Best paper: Sharron Ronco. Charlie Brown Tennis Award: Lisa Jeannson and == Wake Forest. Best FB; Georgia Institute of Technology Minn – George Mason University Electronic - Middle Tennessee State University, Texas State Technical College Harlingen, Mississippi State University Best Planning Document - Alabama A & M University Best Website - Texas State Technical College Harlingen.

James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award - Gerry Dizinno Distinguished Service Award - Bill Fendley

Recognized outgoing officers and board members: outgoing past president Joseph Hoey, secretary Teresa Hall and members at large Chris Mee and Marcus Babaoye. reverse how these are awarded.

Glenn James- AIR Board sends happy anniversary greetings.

Door prizes from AIR and Charleston.

Larry Jones will be retiring April1. Susan Broyles will also be retiring in upcoming year.

Glenn AIR Forum in San Diego Memorial Day weekend.

Move to adjourn Glenn James, Joseph Hoey second. Meeting was adjourned at 8:35am.