#### SAIR ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING & AWARDS BREAKFAST

Little Rock, Arkansas - October 9, 2007 **Provided by Cathy Tanner, Secretary** 

The 2007 SAIR Annual Business and Awards Breakfast meeting was called to order at 7:35 a.m. Immediate Past President Jim Eck (Rollins College) welcomed attendees in the absence of SAIR President Lorne Kuffel who was unable to attend the conference due to unforeseen circumstances.

## Secretary's Report:

The minutes of the 2006 SAIR Annual Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast were presented to the membership by SAIR Secretary Cathy Tanner (University of Alabama at Birmingham). The minutes were approved with no changes upon a motion made by Bill Canuette (Mount Olive College) and seconded by Joseph Hoey (Savannah College of Art Design). The motion carried.

## **Treasurer's Report:**

Treasurer Bernie Braun (Louisiana State University) presented the current financial statement for SAIR and indicated that the number of registrants totaled 404.

# **Audit Committee Report**:

Jim Eck recognized the members of the Audit Committee which included Debbie Dailey (Georgetown University), Gerry Dizinno (University of Texas at San Antonio) and Sam Lowther (Auburn University). The report from the Committee indicated that SAIR is spending funds appropriately. Jim thanked the committee for their work.

# Past President's Report:

## • Nominating Committee Report:

Jim Eck recognized and thanked the members of the 2007 Nominating Committee. Jim further announced the newly elected officers and nominating committee members as follows: Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair – Michelle Hall (Southeastern Louisiana University); Treasurer – Donald Boeckman (Southeastern Louisiana University); Members-at-Large: Andy Clark (Armstrong Atlantic State University) and Angela Hamlin (University of Maryland); and Nominating Committee Members: Donald Cunningham (University of Tennessee-Knoxville), Sara Gravitt (Wake Forest University), Charles Hawkins (North Georgia College & State University), Joe Marks (Southern Regional Education Board), and Zhao Yang (Old Dominion University).

## • Future Conference Sites:

Jim Eck announced the future SAIR Conference sites as follows: Nashville, TN (2008), Dallas, TX (2009), and New Orleans, LA (2010).

### **2007 SAIR Conference Report**:

Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair Sandi Bramblett (Georgia Institute of Technology) recognized the Arkansas Local Arrangements Committee and the Peabody Hotel staff for their noteworthy service and support of this conference. Sandi reiterated the number of attendees for this conference and indicated that Facilitators will be done differently next year. Sandi announced that conference polo shirts were still available for \$20 while supplies last. Following a reminder to complete and leave the conference evaluation forms on the table, Sandi thanked everyone for making the conference a "Rockin One" for the last five days.

#### Awards:

Member-at-Large Kathleen Morley (Baylor University) served as chair of the 2007 Awards Committee. Kathleen thanked everyone for their entries and announced the award recipients as follows:

- **Best Fact Book**: First Place University of Alabama; Second Place Mississippi State University, and Third Place University of Georgia; **Best Mini Fact Book**: First Place University of West Florida, Second Place Southeastern Louisiana University, and Third Place Mississippi State University; **Best Electronic Fact Book**: First Place University of Tennessee, Second Place Georgia Institute of Technology, and Third Place Mississippi State University; **Best IR Website**: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place Georgia Institute of Technology, and Third Place University of South Carolina; and **Best Planning Document**: University of Alabama.
- **2006 SAIR Best Paper Award** was presented to Jonathan Gordon and Joe Ludlum (Georgia Institute of Technology) and Joseph Hoey (Savannah Institute of Art Design) for the paper entitled, "Validating NSSE Against Student Outcomes: Are They Related?".
- Kathleen closed the SAIR Awards announcements by stating that there were no recipients of the following awards for 2007: The Larry G. Jones Graduate Student Travel Grant, The Unsung Hero Award, or The James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award.

## **Recognition of Outgoing SAIR Board Members**:

Immediate Past President Jim Eck recognized the outgoing members of the SAIR Board and thanked them for their service to the organization: Mary Harrington (Member-at-Large) - Vendor Relations; Michelle Hall (Member-at-Large) - Workshops; and Bernie Braun (Treasurer).

#### AIR 2008 Preview:

Michelle Hall, 2008 AIR Forum Chair, invited SAIR members to join her at the Forum in Seattle, WA on May 24-28.

#### **2008 SAIR Conference Preview:**

After viewing a video on Nashville, Ike Ikenberry (2008 Co-Chair of Local Arrangements) greeted the membership on behalf of TENNAIR and extended an invitation for everyone to attend the upcoming SAIR Conference that will be held in Nashville, TN on October 18-21. Ike noted that Nashville is known for its culture, agriculture, attractions and area restaurants. Ike closed his comments by indicating that TENNAIR is looking forward to hosting the SAIR Conference.

## **Door Prizes:**

Michelle Hall and the Nashville Local Arrangements Committee members distributed door prizes.

#### Other:

Sandi Bramblett recognized the Vendors for this year's conference and thanked the UCLA Higher Education Research Institute for sponsoring the Awards Breakfast. In addition, Sandi recognized Jim Eck as an outgoing member of the SAIR Board and thanked him for his outstanding contributions to SAIR over the years.

As an announcement, Jim Eck addressed the membership and indicated that on Sunday morning, the SAIR Board voted unanimously to establish a grant in memory of William "Bill" Fendley. The grant will serve to encourage a newcomer to return to the SAIR Conference the following year. This grant will be used as a tool to improve retention rates among our members, to provide travel grant funds to our membership and to honor the legacy of Bill Fendley.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:50 a.m.