Minutes of the SAIR ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING & AWARDS BREAKFAST

Nashville, Tennessee - October 21, 2008 Provided by Cathy Tanner, Secretary

The 2008 SAIR Annual Business and Awards Breakfast meeting was called to order at 7:43 a.m. and followed with a welcome to attendees by President Sandi Bramblett (Georgia Institute of Technology).

Secretary's Report:

The minutes of the 2007 SAIR Annual Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast were presented to the membership by Secretary Cathy Tanner (University of Alabama at Birmingham). The minutes were approved with no changes upon a motion made by Roy Philbrook (The University of Texas Pan American) and seconded by Bill Canuette (Mount Olive College). The motion carried.

Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer Donald Boeckman (Southeastern Louisiana University) presented the current financial statement for SAIR and indicated that the number of registrants totaled 425.

<u>Audit Committee Report:</u>

Audit Committee Chair Glenn James (Tennessee Technological University) recognized Gerry Dizinno (University of Texas at San Antonio) and Sam Lowther (Auburn University) for their service on the Audit Committee. Glenn reported that the results of the audit were positive and further that the financial health for 2007 was good. Glenn expressed thanks to Bernie Braun (Past Treasurer) and Donald Boeckman (Treasurer) for an excellent job. Glenn closed the report by expressing appreciation to outgoing Audit Committee member Gerry Dizinno.

Past President's Report:

• Nominating Committee Report:

On behalf of Immediate Past President Lorne Kuffel, Sandi Bramblett recognized and thanked the members of the 2008 Nominating Committee. A total of 164 members voted in this election process and the newly elected officers and nominating committee members as follows: Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair – **Bernie Braun** (Louisiana State University); Secretary – **Kathleen Morley** (Baylor University); Members-at-Large: **Bethany Bodo** (Radford University); and **Dana Dalton** (Winston-Salem State University); and Nominating Committee Members: **Margie Hobbs** (University of Mississippi), **Andrew Luna** (University of North Alabama), **John Milam** (HigherEd.Org, Inc.), **Cathy Tanner** (University of Alabama at Birmingham), and **Cornelia Wills** (Middle Tennessee State University).

• Future Conference Sites:

Sandi Bramblett announced the future SAIR Conference sites as follows: Dallas, TX (2009), New Orleans, LA (2010), and Atlanta, GA (2011).

2008 SAIR Conference Report:

Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair Michelle Hall (Southeastern Louisiana University) acknowledged the Tennessee Local Arrangements Committee which included Ike Ikenberry, Mary Lucas and Cornelia Wills and thanked them for their service. In addition, Michelle expressed her thanks to everyone including vendors as listed on the back of the conference program. Michelle closed her report by reminding everyone to complete the conference evaluation forms and leave them at the table for pick by the Evaluations Committee.

Recognition of Travel Grant Recipients and First Recipient of the William Fendley Newcomer's Grant Report:

Travel Grants Chair Jon Acker recognized the 2008 Travel Grant Award Recipients as follows: Sandra Archer (University of Central Florida, FL); Amber Fason (University of Central Arkansas, AR); Linda Gooden (Valdosta State University, GA); Shirley Harrington (Auburn University, AL); James Holmes (University of Texas Austin, TX); Ursa Johnson (Mount Olive College, NC); Suzanne Klonis (Mars Hill College, NC); Cristin Rollins (Piedmont College, GA); Carol Rowlett (Lynchburg College, VA); and

Karon Welch (Wallace State Community College, AL). Jon also announced that the inaugural recipient of the William Fendley Newcomer's Grant Award was Nikki Thompson (Alvin Community College, TX).

Awards:

Member-at-Large Andy Clark (Armstrong Atlantic State University) served as chair of the 2008 Awards Committee. Andy thanked everyone for their entries and announced the award recipients as follows:

- Best Electronic Fact Book: First Place Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Second Place Georgia Institute of Technology, and Third Place Wake Forest University; Best Mini Fact Book: First Place Southeastern Louisiana University, Second Place University of West Florida, and Third Place Georgia Institute of Technology; Best Fact Book: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place Jacksonville State University, and Third Place Mississippi State University; and Best IR Website: First Place Georgia Institute of Technology, Second Place University of South Carolina, and Third Place Middle Tennessee State University; and Best Planning Document: University of Central Florida.
- 2007 SAIR Best Paper Award was presented to Ed Rugg, Donna Hutcheson, and Erik Bowe all of Kennesaw State University for their paper entitled: Retention, Progression & Graduation: Degree Completions and Graduation Rates Tell different Stories About a University's Degree Program.
- Andy closed the SAIR Awards announcements by stating that the Best Planning Document award will be phased out and further that there were no nominations received for the following awards for 2008: The Larry G. Jones Graduate Student Travel Grant, The Unsung Hero Award, or The James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award.

Recognition of Outgoing SAIR Board Members:

President Sandi Bramblett recognized the outgoing members of the SAIR Board and thanked them for their service to the organization as follows: Kathleen Morely – Member at Large (Vendors Chair) and Jon Acker – Member at Large (Travel Grants and Newcomers Chair); Cathy Tanner (Secretary); and Lorne Kuffle (Immediate Past President) received by Jon Acker on Lorne's behalf.

AIR 2009 Preview:

As Local Arrangements Chair, Sandi Bramblett invited everyone to downtown Atlanta for the 2009 AIR Forum which will be held on May 30-June 3.

2009 SAIR Conference Preview:

Program Chair Bernie Braun invited everyone to the next SAIR Conference which will be held in Texas on October 17-20 at the Marriott in Addison which is within walking distance of 170 restaurants. Local Arrangements Chair John Kalb presented a promotional video for Dallas and gave some information about area events and hotel accommodations. John commented that there are a large number of people who are looking forward to making sure that SAIR members have a great time in Dallas.

Door Prizes:

John Kalb along with Bernie Braun distributed door prizes.

Other:

Sandi Bramblett recognized Angela Hamlin - Member at Large (Workshops Chair) who did an excellent job for this conference. Announcements/comments included the following: We need better voter participation for the elections process; Best wishes to Harriott Calhoun (Jefferson State Community College) on her October 1st retirement; Hanna Delbridge (The University of Alabama) was granted Emeritus Membership Status; SAIR will pilot a mentoring program for newcomers who would like to be paired with a seasoned veteran in planning, IR, assessment, etc. Michelle Hall thanked Sandi for serving as President of SAIR.

The meeting was adjourned.