Minutes of the SAIR ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING & AWARDS BREAKFAST Dallas/Addison, Texas – October 20, 2009 Provided by Kathleen Morley, Secretary

The 2009 SAIR Annual Business and Awards Breakfast meeting was called to order at 7:40 am and followed with a welcome to attendees by President Michelle Hall.

Secretary's Report

The minutes of the 2008 SAIR annual Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast were presented to the membership by Secretary Kathleen Morley (Baylor University). The minutes were approved with no changes upon a motion by Bill Canuette (Mount Olive College) and seconded by Darline Morris (Texas State Technical College – Waco).

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Donald Boeckman (Southeastern Louisiana University) presented the current financial statement for SAIR. The number of registrants for the current conference totaled 369. Texas had the highest contingency with 113 registrants followed by Georgia with 39 registrants.

Audit Committee Report

Audit Committee Chair Glenn James (Tennessee Technological University) recognized Sam Lowther (Auburn University) and Mary Sapp (University of Miami) for their service on the Audit Committee. Glenn reported that the results of the financial review were positive and further that the financial health of the organization was good. Glenn expressed thanks to Treasurer Donald Boeckman for an excellent job. Glenn concluded his report by expressing appreciation for outgoing committee member Sam Lowther.

Past President's Report

<u>Nominating Committee Report</u>

Sandi Bramblett (Georgia Institute of Technology) recognized and thanked the members of the 2009 nominating committee. The SAIR membership voted the following as newly elected officers and nominating committee: Vice President/President-Elect/Program Chair – Roy "Ike" Ikenberry (Belmont University); Treasurer – Ruth Salter (Albany State University); Members-at-Large: Cara Mia Braswell (Auburn University) and Nerissa Rivera (Duke University); and Nominating Committee Members – Jim Eck (Rollins College), Denise Gardner (University of Georgia), Nancy James (Clemson University), Joachim "Joe" Knop (George Washington University), and Alice Simpkins (Paine College)

• <u>Future Conference Sites</u>

Sandi Bramblett announced that SAIR 2012 will held at the Grand Floridian in Walt Disney World in Orlando, FL. Rollins College will be local arrangements host.

Bylaw Revisions

Sandi Bramblett asked for discussion on the revisions to the current SAIR bylaws. (These revisions had been e-mailed to current SAIR members prior to the 2009 conference and were also available to members during the Business Meeting). No members had questions or discussion. Sandi Bramblett moved that the revision be accepted and Bill Canuette seconded the motion. The motion was passed by the SAIR membership.

2009 SAIR Conference Report

Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair Bernie Braun (Louisiana State University) thanked the many vendors and sponsors for their support of the conference. He acknowledged the Local Arrangements Committee which included John Kalb (Southern Methodist University), Karen Laljiani (El Centro College), and Tom Martin (Collin County Community College District) and thanked them for their service. He thanked the SAIR board and conference committees for their hard work in putting together the conference. Bernie concluded his report with a reminder to complete the conference evaluation forms and leave them at the table for pick up by the Evaluations Committee.

Recognition of Travel Grant Recipients and William Fendley Newcomer's Grant Recipient

Travel Grants Chair Dana Dalton (Winston-Salem State University) recognized the 2009 Travel Grant Award Recipients as follows: Bill Canuette (Mount Olive College), V. Allen Gale (Xavier University), Debra Gentry (University of Southern Mississippi), Louceny Kaba (West Georgia State University), Karen Kusler (University of Central Oklahoma), Barbara Poole (Boosier Parish Community College), Patrick Roberts (Georgia Southern University), Sam Strother (University of Alabama), Gail Wisan (Florida Atlantic University), and Denise Young (North Georgia College & State University). Dana also announced the winner for the 2009 William Fendley Newcomer's Grant – Joy Evans (McLennan Community College).

Awards

Member-at-Large Bethany Bodo (Radford University) served as chair of the 2009 Awards Committee. Bethany thanked everyone for their entries and announced the award recipients as follows:

- <u>Best Electronic Fact Book</u>: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place University of West Florida, and Third Place Kentucky Community and Technical College System
- <u>Best IR Web Site</u>: First Place University of South Carolina, Second Place University of Georgia, and Third Place University of Memphis
- <u>Best Fact Book</u>: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place Mississippi State University, and Third Place University of Texas System
- <u>Best Mini Fact Book</u>: First Place Mississippi State University, Second Place University of West Florida, and Third Place Southeastern Louisiana University

President Michelle Hall presented the 2008 SAIR Best Paper Award to Gerald and Josetta McLaughlin (DePaul University) for their paper entitled "Using Student Financial Status to Form Comparator Groups: A New Perspective". Michelle also presented the Larry Jones Travel Grant to Emily Saleh (Louisiana State University Law Center).

Finally, Michelle presented two special awards to long-time members of SAIR. Tom Bohannon (Baylor University, retired) received the James Montgomery Outstanding Service Award and Jim Purcell (Arkansas Department of Higher Education) received the Distinguished Member Award.

Recognition of Outgoing SAIR Board Members

President Michelle Hall recognized the outgoing members of the SAIR Board and thanked them for their service to the organization as follows: Andy Clark – Member-at-Large (Awards/Vendors), Angela Hamlin – Member-at-Large (Workshops), Donald Boeckman – Treasurer, and Sandi Bramblett – Immediate Past President.

AIR 2010 Preview

Debbie Dailey (Washington and Lee University), Associate Forum Chair, invited the SAIR membership to the 50th annual AIR Forum to be held May 20 – June 2 in Chicago, IL.

2010 SAIR Conference Preview

Program Chair Ike Ikenberry invited everyone to the next SAIR conference which will be held in New Orleans on September 25 - 28. Ike challenged the SAIR membership to bring "anticipatory excitement and passion for the profession." Local Arrangements Chair Allen Gale presented a promotional video for New Orleans and distributed Mardi Gras beads.

Door Prizes

Ike Ikenberry, Allen Gale, and other Louisiana members distributed door prizes.

Other

No other business was discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:37 am.