Minutes of the SAIR ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING & AWARDS BREAKFAST

Atlanta, Georgia – October 11, 2011 **Provided by Sara Gravitt, Secretary**

The 2011 SAIR Annual Business and Awards Breakfast meeting was called to order at 8:15am and followed with a welcome to attendees by President Ike Ikenberry (Belmont University).

Secretary's Report

The minutes of the 2010 SAIR Annual Business Meeting and Awards Breakfast were presented to the membership by Secretary Sara Gravitt (Wake Forest University). The minutes were approved with no changes upon a motion by Ivan Walker (Fayetteville State University) and seconded by Mary Sapp (University of Miami).

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Ruth Salter (Albany State University) reported the number of registrants for the current conference totaled 478 with registrants from Georgia numbering 108, followed by Alabama with 57, Florida 41 and Tennessee 40. Ruth reported that revenues from this conference probably not cover costs but that SAIR remained very solvent. She extended a special thank you to Donna Cumbie (Albany State University) for her hard work at the registration desk during the past two conferences.

Audit Committee Report

Audit Committee Chair Ross Griffith (Wake Forest University) delivered the results of the 2010 financial review. The Audit Committee met at the AIR conference in Toronto and communicated via e-mail. Ross thanked the committee members, Mary Sapp (Miami University) and Karen Gentemann (George Mason University). The review indicated the financial records to fairly represent the financial work of the organization. The few recommendations have been addressed by Ruth Salter, Treasurer, and the SAIR Board.

Past President's Report

• Nominating Committee Report

Immediate Past President Bernie Braun (Louisiana State University) recognized and thanked the members of the 2011 nominating committee. The SAIR membership voted the following as newly elected officers and nominating committee: Vice President/President-Elect/Program Chair — Kathleen Morley (Baylor University); Treasurer — Bethany Bodo (Radford University); Members-at-Large: Julianna Proctor — (The University of Alabama) and Edwin Litolff (University of Louisiana System); and Nominating Committee Members — Julia Pet-Armacost (University of Central Florida), David Allen (Fayetteville State University), Michael Crow (Savannah State University), Andrew Luna (University of North Alabama) and Greg Schutz (Tennessee Board of Regents).

• Future Conference Sites

Bernie Braun announced that SAIR 2014 will be held October 5-7, 2014 at the Hilton Sandestin, Destin, Florida.

2011 SAIR Conference Report

Vice President/President Elect/Program Chair Denise Gardner (University of Georgia) thanked everyone for attending recognizing 160 Newcomers as a testament to our profession and this organization. She thanked various individuals for their efforts and advice including the volunteers from the Atlanta Local Arrangements Committee chaired by Sandi Bramblett (Georgia Institute of Technology).

Recognition of Travel Grant Recipients and William Fendley Newcomer's Grant Recipient

Travel Grants Chair Lisa Lord (University of Louisiana at Lafayette) recognized the 2011 Travel Grant Award Recipients as follows: David Allen (Fayetteville State University), Gwen Aldridge – (Southwest Tennessee Community College), Sandra Nicks Baker (Belmont Abbey College), Donna Leemon (Marion Military Institute), Randell Fultman (Averett University) Brian Mallory (University of South Carolina Upstate) Cassandra Sessoms (Mississippi College) Meghal Parikh (University of Central Florida), Belinda Brewster-Clemence (Forsyth Technical Community College). Lisa also announced the winner for the 2011 William Fendley Newcomer's Grant as Terry Zhu from (Lurleen B Wallace Community College) and the recipient of the Larry Jones Graduate Student

Travel Grant as Jay Prakash Mishra (University of Central Florida). His paper was titled "Developing a Database to Systemize Periodic and Ad-hoc Benchmarking Analyses."

Awards

Member-at-Large Donald Cunningham (University of Tennessee) served as chair of the 2011 Awards Committee. Donald thanked everyone for their entries. The award recipients were as follows:

- <u>Best Electronic Fact Book</u>: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place Wake Forest University, Third Place Middle Tennessee State University
- <u>Best IR Website</u>: First Place University of South Carolina, Second Place University of West Georgia, Third Place University of Georgia
- <u>Best Fact Book</u>: First Place University of Georgia, Second Place University of West Georgia, Third Place – Jacksonville State University
- <u>Best Mini Fact Book</u>: First Place: Georgia Institute of Technology, Second Place University of West Georgia, Third Place Florida State University
- James Montgomery Outstanding Service: Ross Griffith (Wake Forest University)
- <u>Distinguished Member Award</u>: Glenn James (Tennessee Technological University

AIR 2012 Preview

Glenn James (Tennessee Technological University), 2012 AIR Forum Chair, invited the SAIR membership to the 52^{nd} AIR Forum to be held June 2 - 6, 2012, in New Orleans. Glenn encouraged SAIR members to continue their active role in AIR.

Recognition of Outgoing SAIR Board Members

President Ike Ikenberry recognized the outgoing members of the SAIR Board and thanked them for their service as follows: Nerissa Rivera – Member-at-Large (Exhibitors), Cara Mia Braswell – Member-at-Large (Workshops), Ruth Salter – Treasurer, Bernie Braun – Immediate Past President.

2012 SAIR Conference Preview

Program Chair Kathleen Morley invited everyone to the next SAIR Conference in Orlando at the Grand Floridian Walt Disney World, September 22-26. Kathleen introduced Sandra Archer and Paige Borden who will serve as Co-Chairs of the Local Arrangements Committee. Kathleen presented a promotion video for Orlando.

Door Prizes

Drawings were held for door prizes.

Other

No other business was discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:05am.